Why I love Sparks, part three million and eight

The BAND, not the drink. I’m sorry I have to say that, but anyway.

There’s a lot more I could say about them right now, but for now, please read over this announcement of details on their upcoming album — I love these guys, I really do:

Sparks’ new album ‘Exotic Creatures Of The Deep’ will be released on May 19th and the first single ‘Good Morning’ will be released on May 12th.

The tracklisting is:

1 Intro

2 Good Morning

3 Strange Animal

4 I Can’t Believe That You Would Fall For All The Crap In This Song

5 Let The Monkey Drive

6 Intro Reprise

7 I’ve Never Been High

8 (She Got Me) Pregnant

9 Lighten Up, Morrissey

10 This Is The Renaissance

11 The Director Never Yelled Cut

12 Photoshop

13 Likeable

Album of the year already. Maybe. Very likely, actually.

8 Responses to “Why I love Sparks, part three million and eight”

  1. Eve Says:

    Now me, I can’t wait to here Photoshop!

  2. in2thefray Says:

    Not for nothing but are these the guys that did “Angst in My Pants” ?

  3. Madam Miaow Says:

    My mate John Mendelsohn was in Sparks eons ago in a very early incarnation. Can’t believe the’ve made a comeback. “This Town Ain’t Big Enough – one of the best pop records evah! In fact, now you’ve reminded me, I’m watching it on YouTube. Increasing heartbeat, indeedy. Brilliant!

  4. Ned Raggett Says:

    Heheh, arguably they’ve been making comebacks since the mid-seventies, it’s just a question of when and where. 21 albums didn’t get recorded out of nowhere! 😀 But that is still truly one of the best songs ever. Love the last couple albums so I have high hopes for this one.

  5. david schwarm Says:

    > Lighten Up, Morrissey
    This is, of course, a cover, no? Thanks, David S

  6. Ned Raggett Says:

    Nope, an original. And not specifically about Morrissey, apparently:

    Sparks have refuted speculation that a new song
    attacks Morrissey.

    Lighten Up, Morrissey is actually about a man who is
    unlucky in love, because his girlfriend doesn’t think
    he’ll ever match up to Moz.

    Sparks’ manager Sue Harris told PS: “It’s a tribute to
    Morrissey. The Maels are big admirers of Morrissey –
    he’s been a Sparks fan for years, and the feeling is
    mutual. “

  7. Rolf Koppenberg Says:

    Looking forward to hear this album.Ive been a Sparks fan from early seventies.Great news,this new one


Leave a Reply

