Some more old photos up on Flickr…

I actually got my first camera for my tenth birthday in 1981 while I lived in Mare Island across from Vallejo, California. Over on ILE some years ago, in response to a great thread idea — ‘Tell me about 10-year-old you’ — I posted this as my entry:

Exactly when I turned ten? I would be living on the third floor of the duplex my family got at Mare Island, a naval base in the north part of San Francisco Bay. Vallejo, the town next door, is a bit of a hard living location but as I’m on the island itself, which is very residential and relaxed when it comes to the housing, everything’s pretty nice. I LOVE my Atari 2600 to death, as I do my Shaun Cassidy and Sesame Street Fever records. I gobble down Hardy Boys and Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books as I can find them, and some of my favorite things ever to read are The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury and an illustrated version of The Hobbit with production stills from the animated movie (tried to start reading Lord of the Rings but was a bit befuddled). Dyed in the wool Peanuts fanatic and I’m already collecting the books, watch the TV specials whenever they’re on. ABC is for whatever reason ‘my’ station and I therefore obsessively watch just about everything that’s on it, with Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley, Mork and Mindy, The Love Boat and Fantasy Island my shows of choice along with the evening news. Frank Reynolds, hero. I have my dear first hamster Tory in a cage opposite my bed, I’ve recently got a camera for the first time, I have a strange little electronics toolkit thing I play around with bemusedly, I love astronomy with a deep and burning passion (Cosmos had screened the year before but I was already well on the way), school is going okay enough, I have some friends I really like, I tease my sister as one should at that age, and I’m still a bit surprised and shocked by the assassination attempt on Reagan. And there ya go.

The Photos from the Past set, starting here now has a few shots up from my camera that I took from when I got it through to summer 1981 or so, when we moved back down to Coronado. A couple of samples:

The duplex we lived in (our half on the left)

Tory the hamster

My bedroom

One Response to “Some more old photos up on Flickr…”

  1. Eve McGivern Says:

    I L-O-V-E-D Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books and read everything the library had! I always ask people around here if they’ve read them, but those people are few and far between. I remember some of them creeping me out…remember the girl who would not wash her face and hands and instead just wiped them on a towel? And then Mrs. Piggle Wiggle told the mother to put seeds in her forehead and water her each night while she was asleep? Creeeeeeeeepy.

    And did I ever mention I eventually worked in a library?🙂


Leave a Reply

