Sauteed leeks and carrots

Nice little side dish that became a main dish tonight since I wasn’t hyperhungry. Some gouda and crackers and white wine to top it off.

1 tablespoon light olive oil
1/4 cup dry white wine
3 medium leeks, white and palest green parts only,
chopped and very well rinsed
4 large carrots, peeled and sliced
Pinch of nutmeg, optional
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

1. Heat the oil and wine in a wide skillet. Add the leeks and carrots,
cover, and cook over medium-low heat, for about 8 to 10 minutes, or
until tender-crisp.

2. Uncover and sauté, stirring frequently, until the leeks and carrots
begin to turn golden. Stir
in the nutmeg, if desired, season with salt and pepper, and serve.

One Response to “Sauteed leeks and carrots”

  1. Eve McGivern Says:

    So leeks have become my favorite new veggie and I prefer them over onions. Not only do they have a milder taste that permeates, but I can actually cut them up without tears ruining my food. My eyes never used to be this intolerant of onions, but such has become the case. My ultra-sensitive eyes truly appreciate the wonders of this new vegetable.

    Sometime I’ll have to tell you about this Love and Rockets concert and the affect the smoky club had on me…


Leave a Reply

