Roger Ebert, secular hero

All I’ll say is this:

Read this.

Then read this.

I flatter myself a touch that when somebody sent the link to the first one around a couple of days back that I responded “Reads pretty dry to me!” Which it was.

But really, just read both pieces. I’ll have more to say on Ebert’s larger thesis later, I think it’s one worth considering. Allow me to quote this, though:

These days, there is no room for ambiguity, and few rewards for critical thinking. Now every word of a politician is pumped dry by his opponent, looking for sinister meanings. Many political ads are an insult to the intelligence. Here I am not discussing politics. I am discussing credulity. If you were to see a TV ad charging that a politician supported “comprehensive sex education” for kindergarten children, would you (1) believe it, or (2) very much doubt it? The authors of the ad spent big money in a bet on the credulity and unquestioning thinking of the viewership. Ask yourself what such an ad believes about us. No politics, please.

To say ‘secular hero’ in the subject line of my blog forces the interpretation a bit, I admit. But it does so in this sense — it appeals to the capacity of ourselves to reason, deduce and interpret, rather than leaving it all in the hands of someone beyond ourselves.

And that, I’d say, is a clarion call to arms.

Leave a Reply

