Potato/tomato/soy cheese bake


So the idea for this came from a recipe with the last basket called ‘easiest Armenian potato bake,’ though honestly the only thing that seemed even slightly Armenian about the recipe would be the paprika. I didn’t have that around but I did have some cumin, while the shredded soy cheese was something I’d bought recently just to experiment with a bit. End result was basic but tasty, and half of it I’ve saved for dinner tomorrow to boot.

1/8 cup peanut oil
4 1/2 cups raw diced potatoes
1/4 cup tomato paste
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 small onion, chopped
1 tablespoon parsley
shredded cheese to taste

Stir all ingredients together carefully and pour into a greased casserole dish.

Bake at 325*F (160*C) for 1 hour or until potatoes are tender and top is golden. Add cheese ten minutes before cooking is finished.

2 Responses to “Potato/tomato/soy cheese bake”

  1. how to bake a potato Says:

    Well, I might need to stop over at Bentley on my way home from work tonight. Just like Raggett, it’s a dish I crave from my childhood days.


Leave a Reply

